So the Jets pulled out a great win last night but what every one wants to talk about is the Bogosian hit on Bouchard and should the D man be suspended.
Lets watch it first and then we can discuss a few things.
So lets be honest it was a brutal hit and did deserve a penalty. He extended his arms which is automatic. He also drew blood so I can see where the major and the game misconduct came from. Now the question is should he be suspended for the hit?
Lets take a look at the NHL rulebook first.
41.1 Boarding – A boarding penalty shall be imposed on any player or goalkeeper who checks or pushes a defenseless opponent in such a manner that causes the opponent to hit or impact the boards violently in the boards. The severity of the penalty, based upon the impact with the boards, shall be at the discretion of the Referee.
There is an enormous amount of judgment involved in the application of this rule by the Referees. The onus is on the player applying the check to ensure his opponent is not in a defenseless position and if so, he must avoid or minimize the contact. However, in determining wheter such contact could have been avoided, the circumstances of the check, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the check or whether the check was unavoidable can be considered. This balance must be considered by the Referees when applying this rule.
I think we can concede that Bogosian hit Bouchard in a way that caused him to go violently into the boards. The question now is was Bouchard a defenseless player? Watch the video again. Its best if you turn off the audio so you don’t have to listen to the broadcasters.
Bouchard has the puck behind the net and is facing towards Bogosian when Bogo begins the check.
Lets move a few frames up. Bogosian is initiating the hit as Bouchard starts to turn towards the boards.
So now Bogosian is fully committed to the check and Bouchard has turned completely into the boards. All of which took less than a second.
So lets go back to the rules for a second. There is a very important part that will be used to decide what if any punishment Bogosian gets.
However, in determining wheter such contact could have been avoided, the circumstances of the check, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the check or whether the check was unavoidable can be considered.
Did Bouchard turn and put himself into a vulnerable position? If you look at the screen caps you have to say yes. Bogosian’s only fault was extending his arms at the end. The hit itself was unavoidable and the onus is on Bouchard not to put himself in a defenseless position.
As a former ref I have to agree with the call on the ice and believe that no further punishment is necessary.
Category: Jets News